Skip to content

Endometriosis Stages

Endometriosis is a chronic condition in which the tissue that normally lines the inside of the uterus (endometrium) grows outside of the uterus. It is most commonly found on the ovaries, fallopian tubes, and the tissue lining the pelvis. Endometriosis can cause pain, fertility issues, and abnormal bleeding.

There are four stages of endometriosis, based on the extent and location of the endometrial tissue growth:

        Stage – 1   (Minimal)

This is the first stage of Endometriosis, and the doctor assigns it 1-5 points. In this initial stage, we can see that implants are just starting to grow and few in numbers also size of implants are small. This implants normally found on the pelvis and adbominal tissues. Scars tissues are also minimal and hard to find.

 Stage – 2   (Mild)

This is the second stage which is scored between 6-15 points. Compare to first stage there are more implants has been formed in the tissues and also deeper ones. The scar tissue can be present at this stage, but there wouldn’t be any signs of active inflammation.

           Stage – 3   (Moderate)

This is the third stage, scored between 16 and 40 points. In this stages there are formation of cysts and multiple implants has been formed in ovaries. The tissue become deeply infected and can shed the blood with tissues. The colour of the blood is usually brown, and therefore it is also known as Chocolate Cysts.

                                     Stage – 4   (Severe)

This is the last stage of Endometriosis, and it is scored over 40 points. At this large stage there are lots of cysts and adhesions are presents in the ovary. Most of the cysts can disappear on there own. And some of the deep ones which are caused by endometriosis should be removed by undergoing surgery.

Treatment for endometriosis mostly includes laparoscopy, a surgery in which a little camera is inserted through a little cut in the mid-region to see within the pelvis. Laparoscopy can be utilized to analyze endometriosis, eliminate endometrial tissue development, and fix any harmed anatomy.

If you are suffering from any of these stages. Consult Dr. Vivek Salunke who is expert endometriosis surgeon in Mumbai.